Orange County DUI Defense
Orange County dui defense
Orange County DUI Defense
ORANGE COUNTY DUI DEFENSE
Orange County DUI defense attorney Karren Kenney is an aggressive criminal defense lawyer who has been represented clients in drunk driving cases for more than twenty years. A former Senior Deputy Public Defender, Ms. Kenney has dedicated her career to defending her clients freedom and has never been employed as a prosecutor or prosecuted anyone for a crime. Before starting her own private orange county dui defense practice, she was recognized by her peers for her dedication to her clients and her ability in the courtroom by being named Public Defender of the Year. Ms. Kenney is a knowledgeable and trustworthy Orange County DUI defense lawyer who personally represents her clients and pursues each and every opportunity to have charges reduced or even thrown out completely.
CRIMINAL PENALTIES INVOLVED IN AN ORANGE COUNTY DUI DEFENSE
If you have been arrested and charged with DUI in Orange County or the surrounding area, it’s important that you seek the help of an experienced Orange County DUI defense attorney. This a serious charge that can come with significant penalties, including. These penalties include the following:
- Heavy fines
- Loss of driver’s license
- Jail time
- Required DUI classes
Those penalties are enhanced in certain situations, such as where the driver has previously been convicted of DUI, refuses to submit to a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) test, has a BAC level that exceeds 0.15%, or is driving with a minor under the age of 14 in the car at the time of arrest. The punishment is also more severe in felony DUI cases and those involving underage drinking and driving.
WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU GET ARRESTED FOR DUI
California law operates under a “10 day rule” in which a person arrested and charged with driving under the influence must request a hearing with the Department of Motor Vehicles within 10 days or have his or her driver’s license automatically suspended. Upon arrest, the police officer will likely take your license and give you a pink slip which serves as a temporary license for 30 days. The pink slip – also called California DMV Form DS-367 – will also instruct you to schedule a hearing with the DMV within the next 10 days or have your license automatically suspended when the temporary version expires. The 10-day period includes weekends. It is also important to note that you must contact a specific DMV Driver Safety Office, not your local office.
Avoiding the initial suspension is just the beginning of the process. You must still appear at the DMV hearing, typically 1-3 months later, where you will have an opportunity to convince an administrative judge that you should be able to continue driving. You’re also entitled to a stay of the hearing, which can get you up to two more months of driving on the pink slip.
INSIDE THE COURTROOM
Then there is the court to deal with. The DMV and license suspension process is completely separate from the legal proceedings related to the DUI charge. Unless a plea agreement is reached with the prosecutor, a court will ultimately decide your fate. In weaker cases, for example, a prosecutor may offer to knock the charges down to reckless driving in exchange for a guilty plea. It is vital that you contact an Orange County DUI defense attorney to review the evidence and consider the alternatives before accepting any type of plea arrangement.
HOW WE CAN HELP
The good news is that Orange County DUI defense attorney Karren Kenney can help. In her more than 12 years of experience as both a public defender and private criminal defense lawyer, Ms. Kenney has developed a strong reputation for fighting tirelessly for her clients as well as a good working relationship with many local judges and prosecutors. She understands the law and will keep you fully informed of your legal options throughout all stages of the case. She also knows what to look for in DUI cases and will investigate the circumstances of your arrest and may question police officers and other witnesses. Orange County DUI defense lawyer Karren Kenney will additionally seek to find the best possible outcome for you through potential settlement and plea bargaining.
If you or a loved one is facing a DUI charge in California, contact Kenney Legal Defense Corporation to speak to Orange County DUI lawyer Karren Kenney. From our office in Costa Mesa, we serve clients in Orange County and throughout Southern California, including, Los Angeles, San Bernardino, Riverside and San Diego counties. Call (855) 505-5588 or visit our Orange County DUI Defense website online for a free consultation.