Driving Under Suspended License – Orange County, CA
Caught with a suspended license? Read below!
Driving Under a Suspended License
SEASONED CRIMINAL ATTORNEY FIGHTS DRIVING UNDER SUSPENDED LICENSE CHARGES
A driver’s license may be suspended for a variety of reasons, including reckless driving, excessive alcohol or drug abuse, or negligent operation of a vehicle. You may also lose your driving privileges if you fail to pay the fine or don’t show up in court after getting a traffic ticket. Once someone has been notified of a suspension, he or she cannot operate a vehicle while it lasts. Attorney Karren Kenney is a criminal defense lawyer with extensive experience representing people in Orange County who have been charged with a wide variety of traffic violations, including driving under a suspended license. For more than 18 years, Ms. Kenney has worked tirelessly to help her clients navigate the legal system.
SUSPENDED LICENSE CONSEQUENCES
If you have been charged with driving under a suspended license, the consequences can include a fine, jail time, or both. When faced with these potentially serious penalties, you need aggressive legal representation to stand up for your rights in court.
Depending on the circumstances of the case, a conviction of driving under a suspended license can carry a fine of up to $2,000 or imprisonment for up to one year. Moreover, a person who accrues traffic offenses while under a suspended license is labeled a “habitual traffic offender.” Under this California law, even the first conviction can carry a penalty of 30 days’ imprisonment in a county jail and a fine of $1,000.
When a driver’s license is suspended or revoked as a result of driving under the influence, a California court will require the motorist to install an ignition interlock device on any automobile that he or she owns. In these circumstances, the court may require the device to remain in the vehicle for up to three years from the time that the license was suspended.
When a DUI conviction has led to a suspended license, penalties can be harsh for driving a car during the period of time when driving privileges are suspended. In fact, the first conviction of driving under a suspended license as a result of a DUI can carry up to six months’ time in the county jail and up to a $1,000 fine. Even if probation is granted in such a case, a court must impose a fine of at least 10 days’ imprisonment in a county jail.
CONSULT A LAWYER TO REGAIN YOUR DRIVER’S LICENSE IN ORANGE COUNTY
When you are faced with a charge of driving under a suspended license, you don’t have to deal with the challenges alone. Dedicated DUI defense attorney Karren Kenney will help you navigate the legal system and stand up for your rights. Before opening her own private practice, she rose to the level of Senior Deputy Public Defender and was honored with the title of Public Defender of the Year. Over the span of her legal career, Ms. Kenney has always dedicated herself to defending those charged with crimes, and has never prosecuted cases. As shown by her track record, she is dedicated to diligently representing clients who have been charged in virtually any type of criminal matter, from misdemeanors to felonies. If you or someone you know has been charged with driving under a suspended license, contact the Kenney Legal Defense Corporation. Located in Costa Mesa, our firm serves clients in and around cities such as Huntington Beach, Santa Ana, Irvine, and Los Angeles. Call (855) 505-5588 or contact us online for a free initial consultation.